Find UK Tuition

Science/ Biology/ Chemistry/ Physics Tutor in Norbury - Dr Lucy Norman

Dr Lucy Norman GCSE Science Tutor (South West London)

Dr Lucy Norman Silver Member

  • Norbury (SW16) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 15 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Lambeth, Sutton
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification PhD Astrobiology and Soft Matter & MSc Geoscience (University College London)
  • Professional Qualification BSc (Hons.) Palaeobiology and Evolution (University of Portsmouth)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Certificate issued in 2018
  • Professional Membership Subject Editor for Research Ideas and Outcomes (RIO) Journal, International Society for the Study of the Origin of Life Member, Astrobiology Society of Britain Member, Astrobioethics Working Group Organising Committee Member


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Tutoring science is about developing a love of finding the answers to how the universe functions and inspiring students to achieve their academic goals. I have a wide range of experience in both scientific research and teaching.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Geology and Geography.
Tell me about your qualifications.
PhD Astrobiology and Soft Matter (University College London): I received an Origins scholarship to support my self-proposed PhD that focused on the potential for life inhabiting Titan (Saturn’s largest moon). This was experimental research involving collaborations with the biology, chemistry and physics departments.

MSc Geoscience (University College London): Subjects studied included; Planetary Science, Palaeontology, Geophysics, Sedimentology, and Astrobiology. My thesis title was “The Effects of Geological and Sampling Biases upon Dinosaur Palaeodiversity”.

BSc (Hons.) Palaeobiology and Evolution (University of Portsmouth): My thesis title was “The Jurassic Fauna and Flora of the Alpuente Region (Valencia, Spain)”.

A-level Physics, A-level Geology, AS-level Mathematics, AS-level Biology, AS-level Archaeology. (Richmond Upon Thames College)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have experience in both teaching and scientific research.

My first experience of teaching was in South Korea, I spent a year teaching English to students aged from 6 to adults, some with learning difficulties. In addition to my regular lessons, I organized and taught week long intensive workshops during the summer and winter vacation periods. I have also been a presenter for numerous science outreach exhibitions (including the Royal Society Summer Science Exhibition) and have presented research at international conferences. During my postdoctoral fellowship at The University of Hong Kong, I taught undergraduate and postgraduate students in the Earth Sciences Department.

My studies and interdisciplinary research have covered a wide range of the sciences including biology, geology, chemistry, physics, palaeontology and astrobiology. In addition to my academic research I have been a Curatorial Volunteer at the Natural History Museum (London) and a Research Intern at the Museum of the Earth at the Paleontological Research Institution (Ithaca, USA), where I taught practical sessions on sample preparation techniques.

My background puts me in a unique position to inspire students to pursue the areas of science in which they are interested and advice on prospective career paths, in addition to assisting their understanding of the school curriculum.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 per hour for pre-GCSE students (ages 7-14), £45 per hour for GCSE students, and £50 per hour for A/AS-level students. If more than one student is being taught, an extra £20, £30, or £35 will be charged per additional student per hour, for pre-GCSEs, GCSEs and A-Levels respectively.

I also offer half day museum excursions consisting of 4 hours at either the Natural History Museum or Science Museum in Central London for £140 (£80 extra per additional student).
Where do you teach?
I live in Norbury and can tutor from home or I can travel to students in a variety of locations across South and South West London. Areas I will travel to include; Dulwich Village, East Dulwich, West Dulwich, Tulse Hill, Brixton, Oval, Clapham, Balham, Streatham, Norbury, Crystal Palace, Upper Norwood, West Norwood, South Norwood, Upper Sydenham, Thornton Heath, Croydon, Mitcham, Wimbledon, Beddington, Carshalton, and Sutton (north/central).
I will travel up to 40 mins to a student's residence. For under 20 mins travel there will be no additional travel fee, for 20-40 mins of travel I charge an extra £10.
When are you available?
I am potentially available Mon-Thurs and Sunday afternoons and evenings. Please contact me for confirmation on currently available time slots.

After finishing my PhD at University College London, I took up a two year postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Hong Kong which finished in 2017. I then travelled for 6 months and I am now taking time away from research to concentrate on constructing a computer game and tutoring science.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Ages 7+ / Key Stages 2-5
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
We can work together to achieve your personal best in Science SATs, Science and Geography GCSEs, and, Biology, Physics, Chemistry and Geology A-levels.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, my DBS Certificate was issued in 2018 and can be viewed on request.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Subject Editor for Research Ideas and Outcomes (RIO) Journal
International Society for the Study of the Origin of Life Member
Astrobiology Society of Britain Member
Astrobioethics Working Group Organising Committee Member