Find UK Tuition

English/ Maths/ SEN Tutor-London - Donna Ward

Donna Ward Key Stage 1 English Tutor (West London)

Donna Ward Gold Member

  • Notting Hill (W11)
  • Last Logged In: 16 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Camden, City of London, Greenwich, Hammersmith and Fulham, Lambeth, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc Psychology (Hons)
  • Professional Qualification MSc Educational Psychology (Hons)
  • Professional Membership British Psychological Society
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced and enthusiastic SEN and academic tutor, with 6 years' experience working with children and young people in education. I foster an approach centred on developing confidence, self-belief and an autonomous learning style.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach literacy, numeracy, and GCSE study skills.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BSc in Psychology (Hons) and an MSc in Educational Psychology.
I am currently employed as an Assistant Educational Psychologist, supporting children with a range of SENs, however, for ethical reasons, I can only support private students academically outside of my normal job role. I am trained and experienced in supporting students with Special Educational Needs (SEN), including ADHD, ASD, Anxiety, Dyslexia and Dyscalculia.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have worked with children in education experiencing SEN for 6 years. I have studied the psychological theory behind teaching and learning in both my undergraduate degree and masters level study. As an Assistant Educational Psychologist I use psychology in practice to enhance the learning experience and academic outcomes of students experiencing SEN. I create and implement individualised learning plans for students, in consultation with and Educational Psychologist, focussing social emotional needs and academic outcomes. I am experienced in strategies that aid the development of children experiencing ADHD and Autism. I utilise mindfulness and CBT skills to help children manage anxiety and stress. I use specific evidence based intervention for children experiencing dyslexia and dyscalculia.
How much do you charge?
My fee is £50 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I teach in my students' homes. I am based in Notting Hill, but happy to travel to meet the needs of the student.
When are you available?
I am available on weekday evenings and weekends. Please contact me to confirm.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach KS 1, 2, 3 (literacy and numeracy) and GCSE study skills.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an enhanced DBS Certificate.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the British Psychological Society.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My tutoring style uses a person centred approach, that enables the student to manage their own learning overtime. I encourage students to monitor and evaluate their own progress and learning, as research consistently shows that self-efficacious and autonomous learners present the best academic outcomes. During my initial consultation with a student we will discuss their learning journey to date, where they feel they are currently at, and their goals. We will discuss how we can work together to achieve the desired outcome. Tasks will be appropriately challenging, whilst I provide the necessary support for success, creating a safe environment for the student to take appropriate risks in their learning.