Find UK Tuition

Singing, Drama, English and Essay writing (all levels and TEFL)

Becca Marriott 11+ exam Tutor (South West London)

Becca Marriott Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Oxon English Literature and Language (University of Oxford)
  • Professional Qualification MMus Vocal Studies/ TGCM Diploma in voice / Grade 8 Singing ABRSM
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Full CRB held
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
An Oxford graduate with a range of experience teaching English, Singing and Drama. I have successfully tutored for the 11 and 13 plus, and worked for Shenker English academies in Italy. I am passionate about helping people achieve their potential.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach: English, 11+ and 13+, Singing, Drama/ Theatre Studies, History and Essay Writing.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a degree in English from the University of Oxford and a Masters in Music from Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.

I have worked as an actor and improvised comedian for the past 10 years and have coached adults and children in improvised theatre skills.

I have taught singing privately for the last 5 years and enjoy working with singers who are keen to improve their vocal technique and interpretation.

I have taught English both in the UK and abroad and have successfully tutored for the 11+.

At school I achieved 4 A Grades at A Level in Latin, English, History and Theatre Studies and received full marks for my Theatre Studies written examinations. I also received a distinction at Advanced English.

As someone who took the 11+ and went to one of London's most prestigious grammar schools I have direct experience of the exam system.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have a wide range of performance experience as well as teaching experience.
I have successfully tutored for the 11+ and Common Entrance.
I have taught singing privately for 5 years.
I have taught English writing and speaking skills to foreign language speakers.
I have directed both theatre and comedy helping train and develop young performers.
I worked with 7-11 year olds teaching musical theatre in Italy.
I have excellent writing and proof-reading credentials and have written and edited copy for various websites and review publications, including writing for the Times Literary Supplement.
How much do you charge?
I typically charge between £30 and £40 per hour depending on the subject and the preparation required. For proof reading work and essay writing my price is negotiable.

I charge less for online EFL teaching - typically £25- £30 per hour and a half depending on how many lessons a client buys in one block.

I am prepared to teach in small groups at negotiable price.
Where do you teach?
I can teach at the student's home or at my home in Raynes Park during the daytime and weekday evenings as well as some weekend mornings. I am happy to travel, particularly if parking is available at the student's chosen location.
When are you available?
I am available to teach on weekday evenings and weekday daytime, as well as some weekend morning slots.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I work with students from 6 to any age.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can help students prepare for the following qualifications:

11+ exams and entry tests - verbal and non verbal reasoning, comprehension etc.
Common Entrance English.
EFL for non-native speakers wishing to improve speaking and writing skills.
GCSE/A Level/ Degree level English
Various levels of singing
Auditions for Music and Drama College
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an up to date DBS.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am available to tutor via Skype or to work on improving essays/ proof-reading through email and Skype.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I belong to Equity.
Where and with whom did you train?
I read English at the University of Oxford attaining a BA oxon in English Language and Literature.

I then went on to study singing at Trinity College of Music, graduating with a distinction in my MA in Vocal Performance.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently tutor a range of students.

I tutor one nine year old student who is improving his English writing and comprehension in the build up to the 11 plus. We are working on structuring better essays and stories as well as on general grammar and writing style, as well as comprehension.

I am working with a very bright young man, currently preparing for the 13 plus, who has dyslexia. We are working together to give him as much support and opportunity to frame his ideas and write clearly under exam conditions.

I am helping an exceptional student prepare for Scholarship Papers and King's College School and St Paul's School.

I am working with one GCSE English student to help her organise her ideas and further understand her literary texts and to perform better on her language paper.

I am also teaching several adult learners singing. Helping them prepare choral music and work on technique in a fun and relaxed way.
Do you have a personal message for students?
If you are looking for respect from a teacher and prompting to think creatively and use your own potential we will work well together.