Find UK Tuition

German Tutor in Bovey Tracey, Newton Abbot, Torbay, Totnes and Exeter

Sönke Beyer German (general) Tutor (Torquay)

Sönke Beyer Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification native speaker and 20 years of teaching German KS3, 4 and 5 (A Level and IBDP)
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Exeter University German (with French and Geography)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS checked
  • Professional Membership ALL (Association for Language Learning) member
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I cannot guarantee that you will reach native speaker-like proficiency, but I know that you will enjoy learning German, using a mixture of digital and analogue resources with a focus on having fun.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach conversational and business German, Key Stage 3 and 4, as well as A Level and IBDP German ab initio and German B (, SL and HL).
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA and a MA degree. Most importantly for language learners, I am a qualified teacher with a Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) in teaching secondary German (with French and Geography).
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught German in schools for over 20 years, which included working with individual, small and class-size groups of all ages. Having gained first experience in teaching German while working as a British Council Foreign Language Assistant in East Devon, I decided to follow a career in teaching German at secondary and tertiary level.
How much do you charge?
I offer a 20-30 min consultation session free of charge to establish your personal learning needs and to suggest/discuss a programme of study.
Where do you teach?
Living near Bovey Tracey, I am very flexible and can teach at home, but will - of course - travel to work with you at your preferred location (within reason). However, I might have to charge you an additional fee to cover travel/time if your home is not in the local area.
When are you available?
The sessions will normally run after school hours. However, I might be able to meet you earlier than that. So, any time between 9am and 8pm. Just get in touch and ask. Most lessons will last 60 minutes, but - depending on individual learners - session can also last longer. I would consider working with you at the weekend, but might ask you to pay an additional charge.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach learners of all abilities and ages.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Using my experience in teaching secondary (Years 7-11) and tertiary (Years 12 and 13) students, I can prepare learners for GCSE (all exam boards), IGCSE, A Level (all exam boards), as well as IBDP German ab inition and German B (SL and HL) exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an Enhanced DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
If you would prefer distance learning, we can use skype or other online apps to run the sessions.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the Association for Language Learning (ALL).