Find UK Tuition

Amelia Grandidier - French/ Spanish Tutor Central, West, SW London

Amelia Grandidier A-level French Tutor (South West London)

Amelia Grandidier Gold Member

  • Balham (SW17)
  • Last Logged In: 11 Jan 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Hammersmith and Fulham, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification German degree University Paris V
  • Professional Qualification DELE SUperior de Espanol
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB Enhanced disclosure
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a French native speaker and have over 20 years experience of successfully teaching French and Spanish to adults as well as for school exams from 11+ to university entrance level.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
French and Spanish
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a degree from a French University (Paris V) and have the DELE Superior Spanish exam which proves my level of Spanish is fluent.
What kind of experience do you have?
My work experience is broad based and includes 5 years working in a business environment in the field of magazine publishing. My teaching experience includes work at the Alliance Française schools in Asia and Latin America and self-employed teaching, translating and interpreting for over 20 years.
How much do you charge?
Charges for one-to-one tuition : French : £45/hour Spanish : £40/hour or view my full profile for a more detailed price list.
Prices for groups of 2 people and over is on a sliding scale according to the number of people in the group.
Prices include travel to classes given within my local area (Clapham, Balham, Tooting) but I make a small charge according to travel time and distance if I have to travel further.
Where do you teach?
Although I do teach from my home in SW17, I also travel to work in other areas of South London or to Central, North and West London.
When are you available?
Let me know your requirements and I will do my best to fit you into my schedule. I am happy to work evenings, week-ends and school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
All ages.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have successfully prepared candidates for many private school Common Entrance exams, for GCSE, A/S and A'levels as well as for Oxford and Cambridge interviews and entrance exams. I have taught the DELF curriculum to adults and, in the past, tutored many business people to pass the now defunct French Chamber of Commerce exams. References are available.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to teach via Skype and work electronically.
Where and with whom did you train?
Berlitz School of Languages in Paris and the Alliance Française in Hong Kong.
Tell me about some of your current students.
My current students include business people as well as families owning holiday houses in Europe or parents wanting to improve their language skills to keep up with their children!
The bulk of my teaching is to GCSE and A'level aged young people for their exams. My aim is to give them confidence and to unravel the language to help them to achieve and often to surpass their potential. Please see their testimonials.
All my current students will be happy to speak directly to any prospective students. Students' parents will be happy to do the same.
Do you have a personal message for students?
With my wide experience, I can easily adapt and tailor-make classes to suit the adult learner's particular requirements. If the learner is advanced, we can choose topics for discussion and development within their own areas of interest.
The children and young people whom I tutor after school enjoy their lessons and improve rapidly. By stripping back to basics, I "clear the fog" that has built up in their minds and help them overcome the barriers to language learning they may have encountered previously.
I myself enjoy politics, the arts, sport and travel, have a sense of humour and infinite patience but know when to be firm when necessary.