Find UK Tuition

Paul Grace - English, 11+, French, Spanish

Paul Grace Spanish (general) Tutor (Manchester)

Paul Grace Gold Member

  • Chorlton (M21)
  • Last Logged In: 06 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site:
  • Can Travel To: Cheshire East, Salford, Trafford
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) French and Spanish
  • Professional Qualification PGCE
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS valid until 2019
  • Professional Membership Associate of The Institute of Linguists
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi, my name is Paul Grace and I have successfully prepared students from GCSE to adults who want to speak French and Spanish for holiday purposes. I have had a great success rate which is why clients continue to use my services.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English, and foreign languages: French and Spanish up to A Level, as well as university level, and Italian and Portuguese to beginners' level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA(Hons) French and Spanish, PGCE.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have thirty-seven years' experience of teaching GCSE English and 20 years' experience teaching languages to adults.
How much do you charge?
I charge £27 for children of 14- 16 years and £30 for university students. For groups of two I charge 20% in addition to the hourly fee for one person and a further 10% thereafter for any addition student (4 maximum), and I charge £30 per hour for adult language classes. I charge half the hourly fee for consultations prior to starting to teach lessons.
I reduce adult classes to £27 if you are prepared to pay four weeks in advance.
For adult group language classes, I charge £15 per hour if students pay by the hour or £10 if they pay 4 weeks in advance
£7 if they pay 8 weeks in advance
or £5 if they pay 12 weeks in advance
Where do you teach?
I always teach at the student's home. I am based in Chorlton and am willing to travel to such places as Didsbury, Whalley Range, Withington and Rusholme (most places within a six-mile radius of Chorlton). I am also prepared to travel to places such as Alrderley Edge, Stockport and Wilmslow if classes are taught in the morning. I am also available to teach classes by Skype.
When are you available?
I am available from Monday to Friday (4.00pm to 7.00pm, 8pm if you have a Skype class) during term time. I am available Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday mornings (9.00 am to 12.00 noon) during term time and 4.00pm to 7.00pm Monday to Friday during summer school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students of 14 -16 years old in preparation for GCSE. I also teach adults of any age, preferably in groups, Spanish, French and Italian and Portuguese ( for holiday purposes as well as for business) In fact I teach French and Spanish to professionals in the corporate world one to one or in groups
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE and professional qualifications
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current DBS disclosure certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can teach children or adults online if they can follow the lesson material without too much support from me. This material would be sent to them two days before the class begins. I have had great success teaching on Skype (see testimonials) as well as using the Onsync Digital Samba virtual classroom which has saved my clients travelling time (for those who live outside the catchment area I teach in) and enabled them to be more flexible in the hours they choose to be taught.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Associate of The Institute of Linguists, so I am able to translate from French and Spanish into English. I specialise in banking related as well as computer related texts.
Where and with whom did you train?
I did my PGCE with Birmingham University during the academic year 1979 - 1980
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am teaching 6 students GCSE English. I am also teaching two adult intermediate and two adult beginner students in conversational French and one adult intermediate conversational Spanish, as well as one adult beginner in Portuguese. I am also teaching Spanish to a university student to help him get as much spoken practice as possible. I will start an adult beginners' class in French and Spanish Didsbury at the beginning of January 2018.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I talk to students' parents and adults students after every lesson to discuss the effectiveness of class material and am always ready to adapt the classes to students' needs more than they are already. I am always open and realistic about the time that it takes to facilitate improvement in students' performance. I always come to effective working agreements with parents and adult students and find that this is a very decisive factor in helping students to feel supported and feel that they are getting good value for money. I have a review with students and parents at the end of each month during which they can tell me what is going well and what they would like to see more of in their lessons, and the after three months so that they can discuss more long term issues.