Find UK Tuition

Spanish Tutor in Thornton Heath - Claudia Barth Newlyn

Claudia Barth Newlyn GCSE Spanish Tutor (Croydon)

Claudia Barth Newlyn Gold Member

  • Thornton Heath (CR7)
  • Last Logged In: 14 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Sutton
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification DPSI Spanish (LAW)
  • Professional Qualification Masters Degree in Translation and Interpreting
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Enhanced
  • Professional Membership Member of the Chartered Institute of Linguists

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Spanish and foreign languages have always been part of my life. I very much enjoy working with students of all ages. I tailor the lessons to suit each individual's learning requirements.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Spanish KS2 & KS3,
Spanish GCSE and A Level,
Spanish (general and commercial),
Spanish conversation,
Interpreting and Translation techniques.
Tell me about your qualifications.
DPSI Spanish (LAW) IoLET
Master of Arts Translation and Interpreting (University of Westminster)
Chartered Linguist (since 2016) CIOL
What kind of experience do you have?
I am a native Spanish speaker and fluent in English. Foreign modern languages (Spanish, German and Portuguese) have been part of my life from a very young age. I have worked with children and adults for many years as a teacher and mentor during extra-curricular activities. I have 20 years experience working as a professional linguist and a translator and interpreter in the UK Public Services. Most recently I became a Chartered Linguist. I am also registered in the National Register of Public Service Interpreters. It is never too late to learn, I am currently working on my knowledge of French.
How much do you charge?
Spanish KS2, KS3, GCSE, A Level, general, commercial and conversation: £25 p/h
Translation/Interpreting: £30 p/h
Online via Skype require payment before sessions begin.
If session is cancelled up to 24 hrs before 50% fee is payable.
For cancellations on the day: 75% or full fee is payable depending on the location of the session.
Where do you teach?
I teach at my home or online via Skype.
I can travel for an additional charge to cover time and expenses.
When are you available?
Weekdays and weekends by arrangement.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from 7 years old+.
The levels that I teach are Spanish KS2, KS3, GCSE, A Level, general, commercial and conversational for adults.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, DBS Enhanced Certificate and on the update service.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Member of the Chartered Institute of Linguists (since 2003).
Where and with whom did you train?
The IoL Educational Trust (IoLET)
University of Westminster
Do you have a personal message for students?
As with learning to play any instrument, frequent and regular practice is the fastest and most effective method of mastering any foreign language. Studying and perfecting your learning sets you up for life. Learning foreign languages widens your worldview and with it, the sky is the limit.