Find UK Tuition

Stephen Follows - English, Maths, 11+, Essay Writing, IGCSE, Oxbridge Tuition in Greater London

Stephen Follows IGCSE Exams Tutor (West London)

Stephen Follows Silver Member

  • Holland Park (W14)
  • Last Logged In: 10 May 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Hammersmith and Fulham, Wandsworth, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons), English Language and Literature (2:1)
  • Professional Qualification MA, Publishing (Distinction), PGCE, Secondary English
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB certificate, dated September 2012
  • Professional Membership ATL


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Whatever subject I'm teaching, the first thing I teach is confidence. If you feel happy doing Maths or English, then you'll learn far more - as well as having a much nicer time.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am currently available for 11+ tuition for the 2016 exams. I can teach English, Maths and Verbal Reasoning, so I can offer a one-stop shop for all the 11+ requirements of your child.

I teach English from Key Stage 2 to sixth form and beyond, and Maths for Key Stages 2 and 3. I also prepare pupils in these subjects for 11+ entrance exams, as well as offering learning support to pupils of all ages, specialising, in particular, in essay planning and the structure and organisation of text.

I have had great success in securing places for 11+ and 13+ candidates at top independent schools, including City of London, Westminster, St. Paul's, Godolphin and Latymer, Latymer Upper and Sutton High School.

I have an extremely strong record of raising achievement and grades at GCSE, IGCSE and A level, especially in English, but also in other subjects which require essay-writing skills, such as Politics and Business Studies.

I also tutor professionals, in fields from banking to medicine, in report writing and written communication skills; and I provide, as a separate service, editing and proofreading of documents (@ £2.50 per 100 words).
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a B.A. (Hons.) in English Language and Literature from Oxford University (high 2:1), an M.A. in Publishing from Oxford Brookes University (Distinction) and a P.G.C.E. in Secondary English, also from Oxford Brookes University. I was also only the second person from my school to gain an A at A level for both English and Maths.
What kind of experience do you have?
I taught English in independent schools, both selective and non-selective, between 2006 and 2010, teaching across the full secondary age range, running creative writing clubs and sixth form literary societies, and organising visits by authors and actors. Before that, I taught Publishing to undergraduates at Oxford Brookes University, while simultaneously working as a Learning Support Assistant at a comprehensive school in East Oxford. I have also worked as a bookseller, run a classical record shop, been a member of the Olivier Awards Opera panel, and have more than a decade's experience setting questions for flagship Radio 4 quiz programmes, including 'Brain of Britain', 'Counterpoint' and 'Round Britain Quiz'.

I have been working as a private tutor since 2010, teaching both English and Maths. I work for three major London agencies and teach an extremely wide range of students, from 10 year-olds preparing for the 11+ to mature students preparing to re-enter higher education. I am also tutor in IGCSE and A level English for one of the UK's leading distance learning providers. I work with undergraduates on the structure and wording of their dissertations, and coach foreign students in academic English.
How much do you charge?
My fees are as listed above, although I can offer a discount for group lessons (i.e. two or more students taught at the same time).

Please note that I charge a cancellation fee (of the full cost of the session) for any lesson or lessons cancelled by the client less than 24 hours before the scheduled start. (However, I am happy to waive the cancellation fee if the session is rescheduled within seven days of the cancellation.)
Where do you teach?
I will always come to you, either at your house or at a mutually convenient location nearby. I use public transport and am based in Brook Green, probably the best address in suburban London for transport links, as it's within easy reach of the Piccadilly, District, Circle, Hammersmith & City and Central lines, as well as the London Overground and National Rail. That means I can come to you wherever you're based in Greater London.

I also often teach older students at locations in central London, particularly when this helps with travel. The top floor of the Royal Festival Hall works especially well, but I'm always open to suggestions. I am based in West Kensington, between Hammersmith and Olympia, and can teach anywhere in London, as well as in the areas beyond Richmond, Twickenham, Wimbledon and Morden.
When are you available?
I do most of my teaching after school and at weekends, but can also teach home-schooled pupils during office hours. During the school holidays (including half-term), I am available from 9.00 to 5.00.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
English from 9 to 18, including university preparation. Maths from 9 to 13. Learning Support for Specific Learning Disorders from 9 to 18, and for university students. Essay planning and structure from 13 to adult, including dissertation and thesis work. Proofreading and copyediting as required.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
English: 11+, GCSE, IGCSE, A level, Oxbridge entrance. Maths: 11+.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an Enhanced CRB certificate, dated September 2012.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I often use Skype for teaching sessions, although this is generally only additional sessions for students who I normally teach face to face.