Find UK Tuition

Stephen - Maths Tuition in Birmingham, Dudley, Worcestershire

Stephen Miller GCSE Maths Tutor (Birmingham)

Stephen Miller Gold Member

  • Northfield (B31) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 28 Jan 2016
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bromsgrove, Dudley, Lichfield & Burntwood, North Warwickshire, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BSc (Hons 2.1) Systems Analysis Aston University
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Exeter University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB 001352257281
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I love Maths and I strongly believe that almost anyone can become proficient in it if they want to.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Tell me about your qualifications.
BSc Hons 2.1 (Systems Anaylsis) Aston University
PGCE (Middle School) Exeter University
MSc (Computer Studies) Essex University
What kind of experience do you have?
Initially, 3 years primary teaching then 8 years secondary 11-16 maths. Then I spent 18 years in the computing industry before returning to secondary maths teaching in 2003. I retired in 2009. I have recently published a book called Numbers Explained that covers the basic numeracy work that I find myself teaching over and over again as a Maths tutor.
How much do you charge?
£25 an hour. I will do a free initial assessment session.I charge 40p per mile for travel if the round trip exceeds 5 miles. I will also do sessions for groups of up to 20 students for a reduced charge, depending upon the size of the group. If you are an adult or older student and have difficulty affording one-to-one tuition, you could have a look at my book, Numbers Explained.
Where do you teach?
I will consider teaching at home in Northfield, Birmingham, but as my house is undergoing renovation work, I prefer to travel to students' homes and I will travel up to about 10 miles.This would include most of south Birmingham, east Dudley and north Worcestershire. I also run 'catch-up' sessions for groups of students during the school holidays.
When are you available?
I will consider any time, but prefer weekdays as weekends will result in missed lessons.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
My experience is with students between the ages of about 9 to 16. I would consider working with younger children, and I would consider older students if I thought that I could help. I once had a mature student in his 40s with no Maths qualification who just wanted to learn some Maths. He was marvellous! Starting from nothing, he was doing simultaneous equations within 10 weeks.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE Maths
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes. Number 001352257281
Where and with whom did you train?
Rolle College, Exmouth
Do you have a personal message for students?
I strongly believe that you can succeed in Maths if you want to. Learning maths is like building a wall. If there are some bricks missing at the bottom, it will fall over. If you find maths difficult, we need to find out which 'bricks' are missing. If we fix that, maths can be surprisingly easy. It can be fun. You can do it.