Find UK Tuition

Stephen Perrins - Music Tutor/ Piano/Organ Teacher in Knowle

Stephen Perrins A-level Music Tutor (Birmingham)

Stephen Perrins

  • Knowle (B93)
  • Last Logged In: 01 Aug 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Birmingham, Coventry, Stratford-on-Avon, Warwick & Leamington Spa

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a caring, dedicated, enthusiastic and professional teacher who seeks to bring out the best in students enabling them to achieve their full potential. I have a good sense of humour and get on well with people from all walks of life.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Music A-level and Music GCSE.
I also teach music theory, general musicianship, classical piano and classical organ.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I graduated from Cambridge University with a BA (Hons) in Music.
I hold the Fellowship Diploma from the Royal College of organists as well as the Choir Training Diploma also from the Royal College of organists. I also achieved grade eight piano with distinction.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been a full-time secondary school teacher for thirty-six years, the last thirty-two of which as Head of Department in three different schools. For the past twenty-four years I was Director of Music in a large co-educational secondary independent school in the West Midlands. I have also taught privately piano and organ to people of all ages, including adults.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 an hour for A-level tutoring and £35 an hour for GCSE tutoring. I also charge £35 an hour for music theory and general musicianship tutoring.
Piano and organ tuition is £40 an hour but if half-hour lessons are required then this would be £20 per lesson.
I am willing to travel with mileage charged at £0.50 per mile.
I am happy to give an initial consultation lesson free of charge (simply charging for travel).
Where do you teach?
My preference is to travel to students' homes but would be prepared occasionally to tutor at my home. My home is Solihull, West Midlands and I would be prepared to travel up to 15 miles; covering places such as Coventry, Birmingham, Warwick, Leamington, Kenilworth and Stratford.
When are you available?
I am available weekdays from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m.
Saturday mornings is also a possibility.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages and levels; academically GCSE and A level.
For music theory, musicianship, piano and organ grades 1-8 and diplomas.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSE, A-level, and up to grade 8 and diplomas for music theory/musicianship/ instrumental tuition.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date DBS via Solihull School.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I do not offer online tutoring.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the Association of Teachers and Lecturers (ATL) and the music teaching association MMA.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at Peterhouse, Cambridge University and was taught the organ there by Dame Gillian Weir.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Several of my most recent school students have gone on to read music at university and music college. Some of them have gone on to become professional musicians.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Tutoring is a shared responsibility and partnership. You will only get out of it what you are prepared to put in! When both student and tutor are working together harmoniously, anything is possible!