Find UK Tuition

Stuart Riddle - GCSE English Tutor in North and South West London

Stuart Riddle 11+ exam Tutor (North London)

Stuart Riddle Gold Member

  • Crouch End (N8) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 17 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons: European Studies
  • Professional Qualification Master of Letters: Cambridge University- History
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Post Graduate Certificate in Education
  • Professional Membership Full dislosure CRB

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have a lot of experience in encouraging pupils to improve their performance in examinations, improving their anticipated grade. I have worked with pupils at all levels from Grade D to Grade A*.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I have tutored all the above subjects over the last five years
Tell me about your qualifications.
Cambridge University,Master of Letters, History and Sociology,BA (Hons) 2:1, European Studies, University of East Anglia. Post Graduate Certificate in Education, West Sussex Institute of Higher Education, 1980. I have a current Full Disclosure CRB.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught in London schools for 25 years. I worked for two years with the Barnet Home Tuition Service, tutoring Maths, Science and English. I have tutored privately for several years. I specialise in raising grades for prospective GCSE candidates, particularly in English. I have a lot of experience in progressing pupils through examinations at all levels, from Common Entrance to Oxbridge Entrance. My last four common entrance pupils attained their school of choice, In the summer of 2014 an 'A' level History pupil attained full marks in one paper.
How much do you charge?
£60 per hour . Reduced rates available for two or more students and sessions longer than one hour, on application.
Where do you teach?
I teach only at pupil's homes throughout London although most of my pupils are based in Kensington, Camden, Islington ,Haringey and Kentish Town. I will travel up to six miles from Shoreditch N1, or five miles from Kingston as I am based in Kingston for half the week.
When are you available?
I am available Sunday,Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday,Thursday, ,all day. Also most school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have successfully tutored many pupils for the Common Entrance Exam at 11 and 13. I specialise mostly in GCSE English. I also teach history and sociology to A level. All my recent pupils attained grade "A " for History and Sociology. I have also provided support at undergraduate level. I have recently written a book to help parents tutor their children in English for the 11+. This can be found under my name on Amazon.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, Common Entrance Examination, 11+, A levels. Undergraduate studies.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I have a full, current CRB disclosure certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
n/a
Tell me about some of your current students.
My last pupil for the 11+ was awarded a scholarship for City of London Boys School. My last undergraduate student attained an "Honourable Mention" for her dissertation at Goldsmiths College, University of London. All of my recent A Level students have attained their target grades.