Find UK Tuition

Sue Lyon - Dyslexia / Dyscalculia / Handwriting Tutor in Tranby

Sue Lyon Dyslexia Tutor (Hull)

Sue Lyon Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification University of Liverpool Certificate in Education
  • Professional Qualification Diploma Specific Learning Difficulties (Hornsby), AMBDA, APC (BDA)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced Disclosure
  • Professional Membership BDA, PATOSS, Dyspraxia Foundation
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
As a kind and caring tutor, I provide 1:1 specialist tuition for children with support for dyslexia, dyscalculia and handwriting difficulties. I offer a positive, friendly environment using multi-sensory methods. I build confidence whilst having fun!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach reading, spelling, handwriting, mathematics and memory skills.
I am an experienced tutor of young children who have traits of, or a diagnosis of dyslexia or dyscalculia and who are struggling to keep up with the classroom environment.
I am happy to liaise with local schools and other professionals such as speech therapists.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I qualified from Liverpool University in 1981 and have completed further qualifications to teach children with Specific Learning Difficulties. I gained a Diploma from Hornsby in SpLD in 2004 and have AMBDA status in addition to an Assessment Practising Certificate (BDA) which enables me to assess individuals for dyslexia and the Disability Students' Allowance.
What kind of experience do you have?
I am an experienced teacher of 37 years of children aged nursery to Year 7. I have taught in a variety of local authority and independent schools as a class teacher and deputy head, in addition to providing individual tutoring for the last seven years. I am committed to extending my personal qualifications and regularly attend professional development training. I possess an Enhanced DBS and have professional indemnity and public liability insurance. I have completed a risk assessment for my personal teaching room and have completed courses on Safeguarding , First Aid Essentials and Data Protection.
How much do you charge?
As an experienced and specialist tutor, I offer lessons of 45 minutes at £32 or occasionally lessons in a local school for 30 minutes at £22.
In addition I offer Full Diagnostic Assessments for which a separate fee applies. Please contact me for further information.
Where do you teach?
I teach in my own family home, within a light, bright well-resourced teaching room. Children currently travel from Beverley, South Cave, Market Weighton, the villages of North Ferriby and Swanland and the western suburbs of Hull such as Anlaby and Kirk Ella.
When are you available?
I offer sessions after school on most weekday evenings, before school each day and occasionally some morning sessions on selected days. In addition, I offer lessons during some school holidays. Please do contact me for current availability.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I offer individual teaching sessions for children aged 6 - 11 years.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Whilst I do not particularly prepare pupils for specific qualifications, I find that parents frequently contact me as their child prepares for, or has completed Key Stage assessments. Secure foundations of literacy and numeracy are vital for children to develop key skills with confidence. I sometimes prepare children for entrance assessments to local independent schools.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I possess an Enhanced DBS ( Disclosure and Barring Service) through PATOSS.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the BDA (British Dyslexia Association), PATOSS (The Professional Association of Students with Specific Learning Difficulties) and The National Handwiting Association.
Where and with whom did you train?
My teaching qualification was from S. Katharine's College, University of Liverpool.
My training for specific learning difficulties (dyslexia) was with Hornsby which merged with the Dyslexia Institute to become Dyslexia Action.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently teach over twenty pupils aged 6 - 11 years with varying degrees of dyslexia.
I also teach pupils requiring help with maths, this may be because of dyslexia, weak short - term memory or dyscalculia.
Some children require help with handwriting or maybe just require a confidence boost with their schoolwork.
My website www.topdogtutoring.co.uk provides further information and recent testimonials. Please do take a look for more information.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am committed to providing a safe, caring, positive, holistic approach to individual tuition. I use a range of tried and tested multi-sensory, structured teaching programmes and techniques in order to raise self - esteem and build confidence, whilst having fun. It is vital that a child is willing to attend tutoring sessions.
I hope that all children leave sessions with a smile on their face and a spring in their step, keen to return the following week!