Find UK Tuition

The Dengie Tutor - Maths/ PE/11+ Tutor in Latchingdon

The Dengie Tutor GCSE Maths Tutor (Chelmsford)

The Dengie Tutor Gold Member

  • Mayland (CM3) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 19 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Physical Education BA (hons) with Qualified Teacher Status
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have a recent clean enhanced DBS check
  • Professional Membership The Association for Physical Education, The Association for Teachers of Mathematics
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello my name is Emma. I have been teaching for 8 years doing both Physical Education and Maths up to GCSE level. Currently I am teaching PE and GCSE maths part time and tutoring KS2, KS3 and GCSE maths.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Maths, Physical Education and the maths section of the 11+ entrance exams.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I took qualifications at A level for both Maths and Physical Education, gaining a "C" in both subjects. At university I studied Physical Education with Qualified Teacher Status and achieved a 2:1.
What kind of experience do you have?
In terms of teaching: -
I have taught a variety of groups for maths and have good experience in teaching from national curriculum level 3 to national curriculum level 8. I have achieved good or outstanding in all maths observations i have taught. Over 93% of students I have taught have either achieved or exceeded their end of year target grades. While I have not taught KS2 maths I currently tutor students at this level.

I have taught a variety of ability levels for PE and have taught the Edexcel GCSE PE syllabus for a number of years. I also have experience with the AQA syllabus (very few differences between both)

I am able to provide support for Adults undertaking the QTS numeracy and ICT skills test, having taken it myself.

In terms of tutoring I am tutoring KS3 and GCSE maths, GCSE PE and the 11+ entrance exams.
How much do you charge?
Sessions are charged at £30 per hour.
I do a 20 minute consultation for free before the first session to go through admin and for me to gain an idea of the needs of the student.
Where do you teach?
I generally tutor at home, but would be may be willing to travel to students depending on availability. This may be subject to an additional travel charge.
When are you available?
My availability is as follows:

Monday evening 4.50-5.50
I may also be able to offer additional slots week to week so please enquire. From September I will have availability on Monday evenings, Wednesday and Friday from 9am to 7pm
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I tutor KS3 - GCSE PE students, KS2 - GCSE Maths students and students in years 4-5 for the 11+ exam. I am also available to help with the QTS numeracy skills tests.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSE PE, GCSE Maths, the 11+ ans QTS skills tests.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up to date enhanced clean DBS that is available on request.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The Association for Physical Education
The Association of Teachers of Mathematics
Do you have a personal message for students?
Every student is different and I take a personal approach to tutoring, tailoring the sessions to their specific needs. Whether this is achieving a higher grade or just gaining confidence with particular aspects.Students need to be in an environment where they feel comfortable to make mistakes or ask questions and I know this is something I can and have provided students for a number of years both in classrooms and in one-to-one situations.