Find UK Tuition

Tim Strauss - English, French, German & Latin Tutor in Brighton

Tim Strauss A-level English Tutor (Brighton)

Tim Strauss Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification B.A. Hons. in English and American Literature and French, University of Kent at Canterbury
  • Professional Qualification M.A. in English Literature, University of Sussex; Trinity College (London) Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Cleared by CRB
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English language (including English as a foreign language) and/or literature; French, German, Italian, Spanish and their literatures; and the classical languages Latin, Greek and Hebrew. I also teach Music - theory, history and/or appreciation - and piano-playing.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an upper-2nd-class B.A. in English and American Literature and French from the University of Kent at Canterbury, an M.A. in English Literature from the University of Sussex, a Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages from Trinity College, London, and the Advanced Certificate in Pianoforte from the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have many years' experience of both classroom and one-to-one teaching.
How much do you charge?
My basic rate is £20 per hour for an individual adult or £15 for a child (up to and including the age of 16) or a member of a group. If I have to travel, I will charge an additional £5 per lesson. By mutual agreement, we may meet first for a consultation, for which I would charge £5 for an individual adult or child or for a whole group.
Where do you teach?
I am prepared to travel within the Brighton-Hove area, but do not drive. Otherwise, I give lessons at my home, which is conveniently situated in central Brighton, just off Preston Circus and round the corner from London Road station.
When are you available?
I can generally teach any evening from about 5 p.m. onwards with no seasonal variations, except, as a rule, on Tuesdays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach any age and level from the beginning of secondary school upwards.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am equipped to teach English (language and/or literature) and other languages on-line.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the Chartered Institute of Linguists.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am patient and good-humoured, as well as intellectually stimulating, and will do my best for you.