Find UK Tuition

Trevor Barnett - German and French Lessons in Canterbury, Kent

Trevor Barnett A-level German Tutor (Canterbury)

Trevor Barnett

  • Bridge (CT4)
  • Last Logged In: 29 Aug 2017
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have been an enthusiastic language teacher for over 40 years and enjoy working with students who find languages difficult as well as with high fliers who want to realise their full potential.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French and German to GCSE and A level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
After gaining A grades at GCE with distinction in French and merit in German, I studied both languages at Southampton University, where I gained a 2:1 B.A. Hons degree. Subsequently I gained a PGCE from the University of London.
What kind of experience do you have?
I had 37 years of experience working in schools, including 2 years teaching English in a German Gymnasium and 33 at St Edmund's School, Canterbury, where I was head of the Modern Languages department from 1981 until my retirement in 2010. I have also worked as a private tutor in both Germany and England.
How much do you charge?
Having left my rates unchanged since 2010, I have now increased my rate for new students to £35 with the exception of Key Stage 3 teaching, which remains at £30. I am happy to offer a free consultation meeting prior to embarking on a programme of lessons with a new student. I would need to charge petrol costs if travelling to lessons involved a round trip of over 15 miles.
Where do you teach?
I prefer to teach in the student's home or, subject to the necessary consent from school authorities and the availability of a suitable room, in the student's school. I am willing to travel to Whitstable, Herne Bay and Faversham, and to villages within a similar distance from Canterbury.
When are you available?
As I am retired, I am fairly flexible concerning availability but prefer not to teach at the weekend or after 7.30 p.m. if this can be avoided. I am not available on Sundays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am used to teaching 11-18 year-olds of all abilities but am also very happy to work with adult learners.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I am most used to preparing candidates for AQA examinations at both GCSE and A level, but have also assisted with preparation for other specifications. I have some experience in working towards the O.U. exam for adult beginners in German.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
My most recent certificate is from February 2014 and was issued for my work with children and adults in the parish of St Martin and St Paul, Canterbury.