Find UK Tuition

French/Italian/Spanish Tutor in North London - Jess Mills

Jess Mills Italian (general) Tutor (North West London)

Jess Mills Gold Member

  • St. Pancras (NW1) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 11 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Hackney, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Westminster

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BA Modern Languages
  • Professional Qualification MA Translation Studies
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Current DBS
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello, I'm Jess and I love sharing my passion for learning languages.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French, Italian and Spanish from 4 years to adult beginners and improvers. With regards to exams, I have prepared students for GCSE and AS/A-level exams in Italian, French, Spanish and English Literature. I also help prepare students with Oxbridge entry for Modern Languages.
Tell me about your qualifications.
As well as a BA in French and Italian from Oxford University, I have an MA in Translation Studies from Cardiff University. I studied for an A-level in Spanish in 2013 and gained an A*. I have taken part in various courses during the time I have worked in schools. I have training in Team Teach, Read Write Inc phonics, colourful semantics and safeguarding.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 5 years experience working in education. I have worked as a Learning Support Assistant at secondary level, where I worked with students who required additional support during GCSE exams. I am experienced at being a scribe, reader and invigilator in exams for students requiring special arrangements. I have taught Spanish and French up to GCSE as a trainee teacher, so am used to teaching to exam syllabi and the demands of the National Curriculum.

I have worked as a Teaching Assistant and Learning Support Assistant at primary level for the last 3 years. I have in particular helped support students with autism. I have taught phonics in KS1 and supported in a Year 6 class preparing for SATs.

With regards to translation, I have worked as both a freelance translator and project manager for a translation agency. I specialised in translating legal documents, HR websites and telecommunications texts. I have a Masters in Translation Studies from Cardiff University where I specialised in literary, political and legal translation.
How much do you charge?
I charge £50 per hour for 1-1 tuition. Specialist University Entrance tuition is charged at £75 per hour. I offer pair and group tuition as well. The price of tuition increases by £25 per extra student.

The first session is half price, with a full deposit required for subsequent bookings. I require 48 hours notice in case of cancellation, otherwise the deposit is forfeit.

Prices for translation may vary according to the text presented for translation.
Where do you teach?
I am based in NW1. I will travel to your home for lessons. I am willing to travel within zones 1 and 2. This includes Camden, Islington, Highgate, Hackney, Westminster, Kensington and Chelsea, Southwark, Lambeth and Tower Hamlets.
When are you available?
I am available for tuition from 4.30 pm Monday to Friday. I can also provide tuition on Saturday mornings, and am happy to provide tuition during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from age 4 upwards. I can offer language teaching through play for younger children, and for older children more formal tuition practising speaking, listening, reading, writing and grammar. With regards to GCSE and A-levels, I can teach to specific exam boards including Edexcel, OCR and WJEC. I also prepare students for language aptitude tests for university entrance. With tuition for adults, I teach from complete beginner to intermediate level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSE and A-level exams. I examine syllabi and prepare them for the specific exams they will be sitting. I can also help with preparation for Oxbridge entrance, including interview prep, improving speaking skills, essay writing and language aptitude prep. At primary level, I can teach children languages through play, and help with grammar and spelling preparation for KS2 SATs.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date DBS certificate issued in November 2017.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I teach according to your personal preferences. Everyone has a preferred way of learning, and I adapt my methods to suit you exactly. Learning languages is sometimes hard, but it is also incredibly fun and rewarding, and it is these elements that come through in my lessons.