Find UK Tuition

Miss Linehan - Maths Tuition in London

Miriam Linehan A-level Maths Tutor (North London)

Miriam Linehan Gold Member

  • Wood Green (N22) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Enfield, Waltham Forest
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc, ARCS, MSc Pure Mathematics
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB cleared
  • Professional Membership ARCS
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Imperial college Maths graduate with 16 years teaching experience. A-level examiner. High success rate. Lessons are tailored to each student. Discounted fee for July and August of £25 per hour.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Preparation for !!+ and 13+ entrance exams

GCSE maths, IGCSE maths, ADDITIONAL MATHS (I have taught all the UK examining boards, and have also taught the new style GCSE maths)

A LEVEL MATHS (I have taught all the UK examining boards,and have also taught the new style A level exams)

A LEVEL FURTHER MATHS (i have taught the following modules: FP1, FP2, FP3, M1, M2, S1, S2, D1, D2)

IB MATHS

Undergraduate Maths (mainly Pure Maths, including areas of Algebra and Analysis).





I have taught all the major examining boards- EDEXCEL, AQA, OCR and OCR MEI. I have experience of teaching the followiing A level modules: C1, C2, C3, C4, D1, D2, S1, S2, M1, M2, FP1, FP2, FP3, FP4. I also help to prepare for the STEP examinations.

I also tutor Pure Maths at undergraduate university level,and have helped students with topics such as Group Theory and Analysis. I have helped several people studying for the following OPEN UNIVERSITY courses: M208, M303 and Essential Maths 1 and 2..
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am an Imperial College graduate with a BSc and MSc in Pure Mathematics, as well as ARCS.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have 16 years teaching experience, as well as several years experience as an A level examiner for OCR. I have a high success rate (many students achieving As and A*s). My experience as an examiner helps me to advise students on exam technique. Having taught a wide variety of students, I am able to find suitable explanations of difficult concepts that the student can understand. I have taught small groups as well as one-to-one. I have worked for various tutoring agencies, and saturday schools, in the past.
How much do you charge?
AT MY HOME........:£30 an hour.for GCSE and A level......... £40 an hour for STEP and university level maths
Summer discount £25 per hour


AT YOUR HOME ......£50 an hour for GCSE and A level (£60 an hour for STEP and university level maths)
Where do you teach?
I normally tutor at my home, between Wood Green and Palmers Green.


I occassionally travel to parts of North London.

.
When are you available?
9am to 9pm, all days, including weekends and holidays.

Availability will depend on other students.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I specialise in teaching GCSE level maths, A level maths and Undergraduate level maths. I also prepare students for the !!+ and 13+ entrance exams.

I have taught students of all ages and levels. (My youngest students was 5 years old). I have taught many mature students, and students whose first language is not English.

I have also taught students with Dyslexia and students with Autism.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, IGCSE, Additional Maths
A level Mathematics. and Further Mathematics
International Baccalaureate
STEP
Undergraduate maths, especially ALGEBRA and ANALYSIS, and the following Open University maths modules: MU123, MST124, MST125, M208, M303
11+ and 13+ entrance exams
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I do not tutor online, sorry.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
ARCS (associate membership of Royal College of Science)
Where and with whom did you train?
.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I tailor my teaching style to each student's learning style. This helps to maximise the quality of each lesson for the student.

Many of my past students have achieved A/A* in their maths exams, and many have gone on to study at leading universities such as Oxford, Cambridge, Leeds, UCL, members of the Russell Group and various medical schools.

I have taught students from many local schools and colleges, including Latymer School, Ashmole Academy, Alexandra Park School, Fortismere School, Southgate College, Woodhouse 6th form College, St Michael's Catholic School, The Mount and Westminster School. I have helped many students get the grades they need to go on to study Medicine at university.

I helped an International Baccalaureate student improve her grade and she gained entrance to the university of her choice.

I helped a Birkbeck, University of London, student with their "Quantitative Techniques for Financial Engineering course

I helped a student with the maths elements of the first year of their degree in Economics at University College, London

I helped a Russell Group university student with their Third Year Group Theory course.

I have helped several students with their Open University degrees in mathematics.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I strongly believe that a good grade for A level maths is within most people's reach, so long as you get a good grasp of the concepts, and practice enough relevant questions, especially exam-type questions. In my lessons, a student has no option but to get involved, thinking, and solving problems. I find this very effective in getting the student to gain understanding relatively quickly and comfortably. By obtaining regular feedback from my students, I ensure that the student is learning. I try to adapt my teaching style to the student's learning style.