Find UK Tuition

Expert Business Tutor

Lola Olaleye A-level Business Studies Tutor (South West London)

Lola Olaleye Gold Member

  • Chelsea (SW1W) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 18 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Bedford, Camden, Central Bedfordshire, City of London, East Hertfordshire, Enfield, Hammersmith and Fulham, North Hertfordshire
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Bsc Business Management, 1st Class Honours
  • Professional Qualification Msc International Employment Relations and Human Resource Management
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Certificate 001430872688
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Lola is a professional business studies tutor with over four years' experience teaching students from GCSE to university level.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
* GCSE, A-level, IB Business Studies
* Degree level Management course (Specialist subjects include Human Resource Management, Organisation Behaviour and Analysis, Employment Relations, Diversity,
Critical Analysis of Organisations to Business Ethics)
* Intense revision support
* Retake support
* Study skills advice
* Academic coaching and mentoring
* University application coaching
Tell me about your qualifications.
My background is in Management with a 1st class degree from Queen Mary, University of London, a Masters (with Distinction) in HR from the London School of Economics. I am going on to study for my Doctorate degree in Management at Queen Mary.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have experience tutoring students in the UK, Europe and Middle East from GCSE level up to Master's degree level, with all my students reporting an improvement in grades, confidence and understanding of the subject. I am very familiar with management and business modules at LSE, University of Westminster, University of Surrey, Queen Mary, University of London.
How much do you charge?
My rates are from £50 +

Travel outside London may incur an additional charge.

I am able to offer discounts for block bookings and group tutorials. Please feel free to contact me to discuss a package to suit your budget.
Where do you teach?
I teach in London and surrounding counties (Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Surrey & Kent)

I teach in the clients' homes as I want my clients to be as relaxed as possible.

For clients who prefer to meet in public spaces, I teach in the Members Room of the British Library.
When are you available?
Weekdays - 9am to 8pm
Saturdays & Sundays are also available for boarding students and those for whom weekdays are unsuitable.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students from ages 15 and above ranging from GCSE to university level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I do have a DBS Certificate 001430872688
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Zoom for online tutorials as it allows me record the tutorial session. This is helpful for students as they can play back tutorials when needed, I also use a digital whiteboard known as BitPaper for illustration.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The Tutor Association
Tell me about some of your current students.
A.S, London (Oct 2016 - Jan 2017)

Personal Tuition at its best.

Subject taught: Humanities and Social.

I am a final year student of Human Resource Management at one of London’s leading private colleges. Due to a temporary health condition developed by me in the final semester of my studies I missed a significant portion of the curriculum and, as a result, did not feel sufficiently prepared for the challenges associated with writing a dissertation. That is why I turned to Lola for professional advice and guidance. From our first meeting I found Lola to be very knowledgeable, friendly and outgoing, which made it very easy for me to establish quick rapport with her, creating an atmosphere of trust between us. As a result, I was able to express my specific needs more accurately without fear of being judged or misunderstood. In addition, I was given the opportunity to ask all the necessary questions related to the dissertation, which put my mind at ease and helped me build the much needed confidence towards a positive outcome.

As a predominantly visual learner, I rely heavily on simple diagrams which visually link ideas together. I also sometimes find it difficult to make progress on a project if I cannot picture its final outcome in my mind. Luckily for me, Lola was able to quickly recognise my individual learning style and switch to visual aids. I also enjoyed Lola’s personal approach to summarising the new material covered in each tutorial and making a detailed, yet simple plan for the following meeting. What’s more, at no point during our meetings did I feel like being given unreasonable or unrealistic targets. Lola’s highly methodical approach always resulted in a personalized writing schedule based strictly on my actual capability, which helped me to avoid any additional stress related to effective time management and concentrate purely on the core research and critical writing activities. This was further supported by the superior degree of flexibility where each teaching week was designed around my current progress and needs. This, among other things, meant that depending on my actual requirements, I always had the choice of meeting my tutor face-to-face, in a peer-to-peer video conference mode, or simply over the phone when only a small number of routine questions needed to be asked.

All in all, it is fair to say that without Lola’s expert support, I would be far less likely to successfully meet the strict marking criteria put forward by my educational institution, which would significantly reduce my chances of getting a higher tier final degree.

What was the outcome:
Thanks to the personal tuition received from Lola, I have been able to successfully meet the marking criteria for my final project and am currently expecting a mark between 65-85%, which will put me in a strong position for a first-class honours degree.




Alex W (Spring 2016)
IB business tutoring
Before my one day tutoring session, I had completed a mock test in school for my business exam, in this test I achieved a grade 4/7. I was hoping that I could achieve a grade 6/7 in the real exams which were only a month away. Lola systematically outlined what work I should be doing and the structure which would suit me best, whislt also giving me extremely useful resources for my IB business exams. I believe the reason that this was so effective is Lola tailored her teaching to my style of learning which made it a lot easier to learn the technique and content of the course.
Subject: Business Studies Outcome: In the exams I ended up achieving a 6, this would have been impossible without the help of Lola and I am extremely thankful for this as it has allowed me to be able to further my knowledge in business

Anastasia V (Summer 2015 - Summer 2016)
Highest recommendation, talented tutor
I would highly recommend Lola. She is a competent tutor, who is talented to teach in a very effective way, by helping the student to learn the material with the application of the independent thinking. She is very logical with her explanations, and this helps students to understand the logic of the subject first, and to building knowledge accordingly. Furthermore, Lola has an easy-going, friendly and supportive personality, which make her tutorials enjoyable, effective, and a positive experience.
Subject: Business Studies Outcome: The student was fully satisfied after achieving deep understanding of the subject
Do you have a personal message for students?
My approach to tutoring is informal but objective. I view my role as a tutor as part teacher, part coach and part cheerleader! Initial consultations are designed to understand my students' needs and learning technique before making a plan of action. I also set weekly goals and provide weekly/monthly feedback to my students and parents.