Find UK Tuition

Science Geography, and History Tutor in North London

Thomas Wigley GCSE Chemistry Tutor (North London)

Thomas Wigley Gold Member

  • Finsbury Park (N4) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 19 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Camden, Enfield, Hackney, Waltham Forest
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc Palaeobiology & Evolution, Portsmouth University
  • Professional Qualification MSc Earth Science Research Methods, Birkbeck College, Univ. London
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB available on request (Nov 2011)
  • Professional Membership Honorary Researcher, University College London. Sessional Lecturer in Geology, Birkbeck College.
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a 38 year old Earth Sciences lecturer and PhD student with many years teaching and tutoring experience at both secondary school and uni level. I have more than 8 years of experience tutoring the sciences at KS3, GCSE and A-level.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach all the sciences, Geography and History at GCSE, at A-Level I tutor Geography, Biology, Chemistry and Geology. Geology/Earth Science to degree level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
After getting good grades at GCSEs and A-Level (Biology, Geography, English) I went on to study Earth Sciences. I have a degree in Palaeobiology and Evolution, as well as postgraduate qualifications in Tectonics (PgCert) and Earth Science Research Techniques (MSc). I am currently engaged in a PhD to understand the tectonics of central Greece and the Mediterranean region.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been tutoring Key Stage 4 (GCSEs) as well as AS/A Level for 8 years. I work with students studying under the major exam boards, AQA, Edexcel, and OCR and am familiar with what examiners from these boards are looking for, which can really differ. I provide a student-tutor led syllabus based approach. This involves co-operation between student and tutor allowing a careful assessment of student strengths and weaknesses as compared to the syllabus being covered before targeting the support using a combination of tutorial exercise sessions, homework and exam drilling.

I have been a lecturer at the Open University for the past 5 years, alongside sessional work at University College London and Birkbeck College, University of London.

I have some experience of working with students with type 1 ADHD and other learning difficulties including autism.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 per hour for GCSE and £50 for A-Level.Where working with two or more students I charge a base rate (£40 for GCSE, £50 for A level) and 50% extra per additional student (So, 2 students GCSE = £60, 2 students A level = £75). I have tutored two students at a time, and it can work well if the students are studying the same syllabus and have a good relationship.
Where do you teach?
I teach in and around Haringey, including, Wood Green, Hornsey, Highgate, Finsbury Park, Palmers Green, Bounds Green, Crouch End,and Alexandra Palace.
I also teach in Islington, so Holloway, Archway, Essex Road, Cannonbury, Highbury and Kings Cross.
Northern parts of Hackney that I teach in include, Clapton, Stamford Hill, Stoke Newington and Dalston.
When are you available?
I can often work around weekends, and weekday evenings. For A-level students morning sessions also available to cover early morning free periods. Please enquire.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
12yrs - Adult.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
KS 3, GCSE, AS/A2-Level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes. I have an enhanced CRB which I can produce on request.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a fellow of the Geological Society of London.
I am a member of the Palaeontological Association and the International Sedimentologists Association.
I am an associate of the Geologists's Association.