Find UK Tuition

Violin/ Viola/ Italian Teacher in Cardiff - Simone Laghi

Simone Laghi Classical Violin Teacher (Cardiff)

Simone Laghi

  • Adamsdown (CF24) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 04 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello! I am an Italian music teacher, living in Cardiff since 2013. I am very interested in history, art, good food and always open to meet enthusiastic and interesting people.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My main subject is music, and I love to teach violin and viola. I obtained a PhD in Music Performance at Cardiff University. I specialise in Historical Performance Practice (Baroque music) but I can certainly teach classical and modern music. As my first language is Italian, I also like to teach the Italian language and Italian culture.
Tell me about your qualifications.
2013 – 2017 Cardiff University - School of Music (UK): PhD in Music Performance
2009 – 2010 Conservatorium van Amsterdam (Nederlands): Bachelor in Early Music (barokviool)
2007 – 2008 Conservatorio "B. Maderna", Cesena (Italy): Diploma in Violin
2006 – 2008: Diploma in Chamber Music (Three-year course), Accademia Internazionale Pianistica "Incontri col Maestro". Chamber Music
2006 – 2007 Conservatorio "B. Maderna", Cesena (Italy): Academic Diploma in "Musical disciplines" (Viola and chamber music)
2005 – 2006 Conservatorio "G. Verdi", Ravenna (Italy): Diploma in Viola
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching kids and adults. I love to teach chamber music to small groups, and to introduce my pupils to new repertoire and to discover new music together. I also have experience in with pop and rock music.
How much do you charge?
Prices are shown above. Travel arrangements can be discussed. I have a car so I can travel quite easily, but it is complicated to travel during rush hour (3.30-6pm).
I can also provide lessons that are shorter than an hour [£15 for 30 minutes, £20: 45 minutes]
Where do you teach?
I prefer to teach at my place in Cardiff (Splott, Adamsdown, Roath). I can also travel to Caerphilly and Newport, but travel time and expenses should be negotiated beforehand.
When are you available?
As I am a freelance musician and a researcher, I travel quite a lot and I require some flexibility. Nevertheless, from January 2018 I will be more regular and I will dedicate more time to teaching. I would generally teach on Tuesdays and possibly also on Saturdays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have good experience with adults, especially with teaching the Italian language. With music, I like teaching both adults and children.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
With reference to music, I can prepare for the ABRSM grade exams, but that won't be the main aim of the lessons. The main aim will be to learn how to play in a correct way, supported by a solid technique and with awareness of the appropriate style and of the historical music context.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date DBS Certificate.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I believe that learning a new language and playing a musical instrument are two expressions of the same basic human need to communicate our inner feelings and thoughts to the world around us.