Find UK Tuition

Michele Carruthers - 11+ Tutor and EFL Teacher in Stratford upon Avon

Michele Carruthers English as a Foreign Language (EFL) Teacher (Coventry)

Michele Carruthers

  • Claverdon (CV35) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 10 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm a happy, patient and flexible teacher who will personalise lessons to meet individual or small group requirements. I will also provide honest feedback and recommend other educational resources should I feel they be necessary.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I have three main areas of expertise. They are 11+ coaching, English Language and Fine Art.

The 11+ exam requires strong English skills. My extensive knowledge and experience in teaching both native speakers and International students with their reading, writing and speaking skills is a fantastic grounding for young students studying for the 11+. Alongside English, I teach Maths, Verbal Reasoning and Non-Verbal Reasoning and encourage students to enjoy learning, participating in classes with confidence.

I have worked as an EFL tutor (both privately and employed by a school) for many years and have taught individuals and groups of mixed abilities and nationalities.

I have successfully helped students (native speakers) with dyslexic tendencies to improve their reading age and gain confidence, and particularly like to help young learners in this area.

I'm happy to proof read dissertations and am able to guide students through the complexities of academic writing and referencing - however, I must stress that the content of the essays must be the students own.

Alongside my English qualifications, I have a Masters in Fine Art and can help students with all aspects of Practical/Coursework/Art History/Theory from early years to Graduate level. I feel creativity is extremely important whatever the subject and can enhance all learning experiences.

I'm always open to new challenges, so please do get in touch!
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a CELTA (Cambridge University) teaching qualification in English as a Foreign Language and a Masters and BA Hons (1st) in Fine Art from Birmingham City University.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have an extremely wide range of experience from teaching, presenting, exhibiting, working in blue chip companies and making/advising on applications for jobs and funding. I have my own, grown up children and understand the challenges that modern academic life can place on a young person.
How much do you charge?
My fees are £30 an hour (travel included). The first consultation will be free and rates for groups can be negotiated.
Where do you teach?
I live just outside of Stratford-upon-Avon and teach both from my own home, at the students home and/or workplace. I am happy to travel to Leamington Spa, Warwick, Kenilworth, Henley in Arden, Shipston on Stour and many villages in between. If students are minors, I would ask that a parent/carer is present (I'm DBS checked).
When are you available?
I am available throughout the week during the day/evenings and can arrange weekend lessons if required.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am able to teach 11+, English Language skills and Art from the early years to adults.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+ exam, English and Art GCSE's.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have taught EFL to many different nationalities from Polish, Czech, Russian, Italian, Spanish, Indian, Japanese, KSA and English students on an individual basis and as groups, across a wide age and ability range. I also work as a Cover Teacher in a local Grammar School covering a range of subjects up to GCSE and am an experienced 11+ tutor.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I believe we are all unique and that everyone has something special to offer. I look forward very much to meeting you.