Find UK Tuition

Cambridge M.A. English, French, Spanish, Italian Tutor. Beverley, Hull

Wendy Iasevoli Key Stage 2 English Tutor (Hull)

Wendy Iasevoli

  • Beverley (HU17)
  • Last Logged In: 17 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a Cambridge University graduate and a fully-qualified teacher. I have previously taught in both Secondary and Primary schools as well as private Language Schools. Currently, I run my own Academic Tuition and Language Services Company.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am available to tutor in English, French, Spanish, Italian and EFL. I tutor all levels from KS2 and I am also an experienced 11 plus and Entrance Exams tutor. For independent school students I offer tuition in line with the ISEB curriculum. I also tutor at KS3, KS4 and KS5 and for all the main exam boards at G.C.S.E, I.G.C.S.E and A'Level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Masters Degree from Cambridge University in Modern Languages during which time I studied French and Spanish Language, Literature and the History of the English Language. After graduating I gained Qualified Teacher Status with a P.G.C.E in Languages. I am also qualified to teach English with a TEFL Certificate from Trinity College, London.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have many years of teaching experience, having started out as an EFL teacher before gaining my P.G.C.E. After graduating, I also spent time tutoring in London and often received requests to travel with international clients to continue tuition. I hold UK Qualified Teacher Status [QTS] and have taught Modern Foreign Languages at Secondary School and Primary School. In addition, I have taught Adult Education Language Courses for East Riding Council.
I also run regular group courses in French, Spanish and Italian for Adult Learners. In addition, I run small Literacy support groups to help children improve their reading, grammar, spelling and punctuation. I also tutor student teachers for the QTS Literacy Skills Test and have achieved passes for students who had failed the test on previous attempts.I also continue to teach English as a Foreign Language and have taught students from all over the world from Russia to Japan.
How much do you charge?
My hourly rate starts at £30 and I offer a free trial for all online tuition.
Where do you teach?
I deliver face-to-face tuition from home, tutoring students from Beverley, Hull and across the East Riding and York. I also teach students from different regions of England via Skype.
When are you available?
I am available during term time depending on vacancies that I have at the time of enquiry.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages from age 5 to the retired. From ages 5- 18, I mainly tutor in English, SATs, Entrance Exams, 11 plus, French and Spanish and for all the main exam boards at G.C.S.E, I.G.C.S.E and A'Level. In addition, I run small Literacy support groups to help KS2 children improve their reading, grammar, spelling and punctuation and I also hold exam revision courses and workshops such as G.C.S.E English Writing Skills, A2 French/Spanish Essay Writing and Oxbridge Entry, to name but a few.
For adults over 18 I mainly tutor in Foreign Languages - Spanish, Italian and French. As well as delivering bespoke one to one lessons, I also run regular group courses such as Beginners Spanish, Italian for Holidays, French Improvers etc. at venues in my local town of Beverley.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare my students for SATs [English], Entrance Exams and 11 plus [English & Reasoning], G.C.S.E, I.G.C.S.E and A'Level in English, French, Spanish and Italian. I also offer guidance on Oxbridge entry including interview technique. I also prepare non-native speakers of English for the Cambridge exams, IELTS and TOEFL.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I currently deliver online tuition to students across the country, many of whom I prepare for the academically selective school admission process. I plan engaging and effective lessons for delivery via Skype with a variety of teaching resources including screen share, online whiteboard, power point slides and worksheets, many that I have personally created. Lessons are always pre-planned to allow maximum student progression within lesson time. Homework resources are emailed upon request. For online tuition, please ask me about a free trial lesson.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of ATL -the Association of Teachers and Lecturers
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently tutor a wide-range of students including primary-aged children learning a Foreign Language or those who require extra support or further challenge in English. I am also tutoring number of children towards Entrance Exams for admission to academically selective Secondary Schools. At Secondary level, I support children towards G.C.S.E and A'Level English, French and Spanish. Currently, I have several students who are studying their subjects as private candidates because the subject is not available at school or because they are unable attend school regularly due to semi -professional sporting commitments etc. Aside from academic tuition, I also enjoy tutoring adult students in Foreign Languages and some of my current students need to learn a language for professional reasons, working in fields such as the Petrochemical Industry. Many of my adult students, however, simply want to learn a language for leisure purposes.
Do you have a personal message for students?
As a teacher my approach is patient and flexible. The learner is at the heart of what I do and my aim is for all students to make rapid progress but also to enjoy their learning. As a result I enjoy planning effective and engaging lessons which are tailor-made for my students. I strongly believe that one-to-one and small group tuition can deliver real results for all types of learners due to the focus on individual learning needs and styles. In the meantime, I look forward to receiving new requests and hope I can continue to help all types of students reach their personal goals.