Find UK Tuition

Yasmin Akhavan - French Tutor in Central London

Yasmin Akhavan French (general) Tutor (West London)

Yasmin Akhavan Gold Member

  • Holland Park (W14) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Brent, City of London, Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Richmond upon Thames, Wandsworth, Westminster

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Mainly focus on conversational skills for adults now, but can tutor all school curriculum and help with homework.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French and English as a Foreign Language (all levels).
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have the French Baccalaureate in literature and a degree in Modern Languages and Culture, specialising in French and German at University College London (UCL), where I graduated with a distinction in French.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been tutoring French and English as a Foreign Language to children, teenagers and adults for 8 years.
This ranges from conversational skills, to specific language knowledge for a particular field and exam prep for school and university students.
How much do you charge?
I charge up to £50 p/h - but this can vary from case to case. Drop me a line to find out what we can do.
Rates may be less for online tutoring. Please email me for more info.
Where do you teach?
I am very flexible with location and can travel to student’s homes around London, however, I cannot teach at my own home.
I am also available for online tuition.
When are you available?
I am available early morning or evenings - and can be quite flexible on weekends.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
All ages, all levels! I am willing to teach pupils as young as 5, all the way to adults, either beginners or coming back after many years!
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have prepared students for IELTS, TEFL, CNED, French GCSE, French A-Levels, the Brevet du College, and the French Baccalaureat.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
As a volunteer in a special needs school, I do have an enhanced CRB disclosure.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
If students request online tutoring, we will set up a date and time when we are both online and available, and conduct the lesson with the aid of a microphone and webcam, so the students can see me during the lesson.
Tell me about some of your current students.
*Currently teaching a lot of 'intensive' sessions as well before students' mock exams/exams and essay/coursework hand-ins - so if you're currently in that situation, please do not panic, we can get through it!!*

My current students range from GCSE and A-Level students, to au pairs wanting to learn French for French families, to adults wanting to pick up some conversational French. It is really interesting to have students of different ages and from different backgrounds. My lessons usually cater to the individual's needs, and I usually spend the first lesson trying to assess their level and find out what exactly they want to achieve from the lesson and take it from there.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Enthusiasm and curiosity is the key to successfully mastering new languages. I speak fluent English, French and Persian, and am currently learning Italian and German, and believe that with the right attitude and approach to learning a new language, you can acquire new skills without feeling trapped in a complicated enigma.