• Mobile Icon
  • Linkedin Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Youtube Icon

GCSE Biology Tuition in Westminster (Bayswater, Marylebone, Belgravia and Maida Vale)

Tutors in Westminster

Cathy Bear Victoria, SW1
Gold Jessica Whitehead Westminster, SW1
Gold Adam Kazmi Marylebone, W1
Gold Dr James Lambert Bayswater, W2
Gold Simon Berrie Paddington, W2

Nearby Tuition Centres

Talent Engaged Tuition Centre Alperton, HA0

Tutors travelling to Westminster

Gold Sue Lin Vazeille Wembley Park, HA9
Gold Max Little Kentish Town, N7
Mr M Bury Cricklewood, NW2
Kai Rushton Borough, SE1
Gold Sowmya Kennington, SE1
Gold Asmah Battersea, SW1P
Gold Viv Battersea, SW1
Sophie Brooks Brixton Hill, SW2
Philippa Baines Balham, SW4
Gold Anmol Patel Sloane Square, SW7
Mark the Tutor Streatham, SW16
Gold Felix Gill Furzedown, SW17
Silver Emma Isabella Makdessi Notting Hill, W8

Online Tutors

Emma Mines King's Hedges, CB4
Gold David Gardner Summertown, OX2
Gold Bob Carroll Central Bristol, BS15
Gold Raj Jain Stanmore, HA8
Gold Christopher Poffley Felixstowe, IP11
C Sibley Shrub End, CO2
Gold Dr John Hudson Radlett, WD7
Gold Asmah Battersea, SW1P
P Walker Bassett, SO15
Faisal101 Olton, B91
Silver Nasim Golders Green, NW2
Silver David Allerton Brockley, SE4
Gold Mark Scates Noak Hill, RM3
Gold Bella Rocca Northfield, W5
Gold Daniel Hill Balham, SW17
Dr James Deeny Deptford, SE8
Gold Carrie Garbow East Saltdean, BN2
Gold Becky Heavitree, EX2
Silver Gareth Pr Aylesbury, HP19
Gold Waqar Haymill, SL1
Gold Sandy Nicol Westcott, RH4
Philippa Baines Balham, SW4
Gold richardg North Richmond, TW10
Gold Mr.Kanesalingam Goodmayes, IG3
Gold Dr Paul Kilkenny Bromley, BR1
Gold Adrian Schmit Llantwit Major, CF61
Linda Powell West Bergholt, CO3
Silver Linda Penney Sharnbrook, MK43
Nasia Plaistow, E6
Paul Bains Brunel, UB10
Gold Matthew Barnes Biology Tutor St. Margaret's, OX2
Kai Rushton Borough, SE1
Gold LMSTS Kensington, L6
Gold Dr M A Choudhry Hammersmith, W6
Gold Catherine Wright Preston Park, BN1
Gold Sue Lin Vazeille Wembley Park, HA9
Gold Hellen Frost Greenhill, CT6
Abi Mogul Perivale, HA0
Gold Mr Vikram Gants Hill, IG5
Gold Tim the Tutor East Grinstead, RH19
David Doran Shaftesbury, SW11
Silver Soheb Alam Ponders End, EN3
Gold Phillip Cuckston Lytchett Matravers, BH21
Gold Ben Hanson Halifax, HX5
Gold Adam Willis Fladbury, WR10
Jon Clark Welwyn Garden City, AL7
Silver D & A Tuition Chingford, E4
Gold Doug Thames Ditton, KT7
Gold S. Barton-King Turnpike Lane, N17
Silver Lottie Greenhow Queens Park, MK40
Gold Sowmya Kennington, SE1
Lyndsay Baker Banbury, OX16
Gold Dr Alice Crawford Hainault, IG8
Gold Rob Folkard Wembley Central, HA9
Gold Viv Battersea, SW1
Gold Mrs Bhatia Gants Hill, IG5
Silver Bea Tamizi Letchworth Garden City, SG6
Gold Deepa Bhatnagar Pinner, HA5
Gold Dr Rajandra Shah Rushmills, NN1
Gold Dr Martine Hooper Foxhills, KT16
Gold MR S A Y ALI Private Tuition Central Birmingham, B6
Silver Joana Central Bournemouth, BH1
Sophie Brooks Brixton Hill, SW2
Gold Rebecca Hutchinson Surbiton, KT5
Show All

Request a Tutor

Can't find the tutor you need? Post a request on our Tutors Wanted board.

View all tutors for GCSE Biology


Cathy Bear BMAT Tutor (South West London)

Cathy Bear

  • Victoria (SW1)
  • Last Logged In: 01 Sep 2014
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Camden, City of London, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Wandsworth
Contact Me View My Full Profile
Personal Message
Hi, I'm Cathy. I'm a 5th year medical student studying at UCL. I am currently partaking in the clinical part of my medical degree having done an intercalated BSc in surgical sciences last year. I'm based in Westminster but willing to travel.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
11+ and 13+ entrance exams
KS1 & KS2 maths and science
GCSE level art (guidance, knowledge and some technical help), physics, biology and maths
UKCAT and BMAT tutoring

Specialised:
Handwriting
Reading
ADD/ADHD & attention problems - I have ADHD myself so would be a much more understanding tutor and a better fit for any student with these difficulties.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I got 10A*s (maths, triple science, history, English language, French, German, art, ICT) and an A (in English literature) at GCSE. For A-level I got As in chemistry, maths and physics (and As in both biology and art at AS-level).

As previously mentioned, I am currently studying medicine at UCL and passed first to fourth years well, with good entry scores on UKCAT and BMAT entrance exams.
I also received a 2.2 for my iBSc in surgical sciences two years ago.
What kind of experience do you have?
Firstly I have acted as a science prefect in my sixth form, which involved tutoring younger students, particularly those studying for their GCSEs in science and maths. My job was to help guide them through the subjects they found more challenging, and help go through papers with them.

Secondly in my second year studying at UCL I took part in a scheme called Sexpression, where I went into schools in the Hampstead area and taught years 8 and 9 sex education. This included covering the basics of contraception, common sexually transmitted diseases and general advice for the students, particularly to answer any concerns they had around the subject. This experience taught me good teaching skills and ways to communicate with younger people and get across sometimes complicated subjects using simple terms to help them understand their significance and make them interested in the subject.

Thirdly I worked with Twin, a transfer student company which looks after and teaches foreign students english and guides them round tourist sites in the South East. I acted as a guide and teacher to the students.

Finally I have tutored previously on the tutor pages and had good reviews from my students. I have taught AS level physics, GSCE maths, GCSE biology, UKCAT and BMAT to many different students with very positive results.
How much do you charge?
I charge £20ph for GCSE level tutoring and £25ph for A-level/university entry tutoring. The difference accounting for the amount of preparation required for the subjects. I would be happy to do a free half an hour meet with the student/parents to discuss what you would like to cover in the sessions and of course, to see if you like me and think I am suitable to your requirements! I would not ask for travel payments within zones 1-2 of London, but beyond that I may consider it, depending on regularity.
Where do you teach?
I am happy to travel to a students house or to teach students at my flat in Westminster, whatever is easiest for you. I am also happy to do online teaching, for example over Skype if that is preferable, I would charge £5 less for that as it would require less time in total and no travel costs. I am happy to teach anywhere in London tube zones 1-2, including Westminster, Victoria, Pimlico, Kensington, Chelsea, Putney, Shepherd's Bush, Hampstead, Camden, Bloomsbury, Angel, Aldgate. Basically anywhere within zones 1-2. I would be willing to travel out further but I would require the cost of travel to be reimbursed.

My family home is in Kent (BR6) so I would also be happy to take tutoring jobs around that area too, including Orpington, Bromley, Sidcup, Croydon and more.
When are you available?
For tutoring in central London I will be available week days after 5.30pm other than Wednesdays which I am not available on as I have other extracurricular activities that take place on Wednesday afternoons. For tutoring in South East London/Kent I can do the weekends in the afternoons/evenings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am happy to teach GCSE, AS and A level students, so students studying them will typically be 14-18 years old.
I also am happy to tutor those with reading, handwriting and concentration difficulties, so they may be any age from primary school to adulthood.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have a clear CRB check, it is mandatory to study medicine.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
As mentioned previously I am happy to do online tutoring, for example over Skype or answering questions after sessions via email. I have no specialist programmes for online tutoring however, it would simply be a long distance tutoring session.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I know it is difficult sometimes to accept help even if you are struggling with a subject and so I am here to act not only as a tutor but also as a friend. I am 21, so not much older than the students I will be teaching, and as it hasn't been long since I went through school myself, I hope to be able to relate to students on a personal level. I hope to guide them through the more difficult subjects and help them find interest in topics which they previously found boring, in order to get them excited about learning and achieving high grades. Also my experience with ADHD makes me a very understanding tutor for those with concentration problems.

I am kind and patient, with a sense of humour (something I definitely needed for my Sexpression work!) and finally I love working with young people so I do hope you will get in touch!

Tutors in: Bayswater, Knightsbridge, Little Venice, Maida Vale, Marylebone, Paddington, Pimlico, Queen's Park, Regent's Park, St John's Wood, Victoria, West End, Westbourne Grove, Westminster